UAC is design to prevent anything to install into the system folders including printers, new hardware, active x, etc.....
It's annoying to click continue when you want to go the the place you want to. It's like a system admin trying to go into the computer room, you'll need to scan your access card before you can go in. The same applies to UAC. It prompts you for access before it let you in. When you deploy hundreds of Vista PC, you'll want to have UAC turn on so dumb people won't have access to load crap on their machine so we don't have to fix it. When you are servicing a machine, it's annoying during the time you need to service it, but you won't be the prime user. The run as administrator is to prevent admin from making mistakes on the system. If you don't want to run as administrator, then just login as the default administrator account. After all UAC is a tool that MS put in so they don't get blame if your machine get infected. As with all new tools from MS, nobody likes it to start with but we'll use it sooner or later when we move forward.
I prefer people clicking on cancel rather then continue if they don't know what they are doing. If they only click continues when it comes up, that means I'll need to fix their machine pretty soon cause those people tend to not read warnings.
Symantec suites cost $$ for those of us that don't make the big bucks and symantec slows the machine down.
Most home user won't have a choice when getting a new a new machine as all new machine is Vista, but business users can downgrade to XP for free. |